A description of ethan frome a very well written book

Plot[ edit ] The novel is framed by the literary device of an extended flashback.

A description of ethan frome a very well written book

Un-put-down-able books, for me, have certain qualities: And if this has happened to you lately, tell us in comments.

Need ideas for this category? Some links including all Amazon links are affiliate links. Megan Abbott Abbott has a reputation for writing nail-biters but this is the first of her work I read.

In her newest release, she builds her domestic suspense around an elite teen gymnast—an excellent backdrop for a creepy mystery because in this high-stakes world people will stop at almost nothing to get what they want.

Abbott kept me guessing the whole way through: Recommended reading for fans of Mary Kubica and Gillian Flynn.

See a Problem?

Liane Moriarty Moriarty's works are compulsively readable: I spreed through this like it was the fluffiest chick lit, but found myself mulling over its themes for weeks after I finished. Amor Towles This Gatsby-esque novel plunges you into the streets of Manhattan, circa The girls vie for his affection—until one impulsive decision changes everything.

A beautifully drawn story of wealth and class, luck and fate, love and illusion. Rob Thomas The story starts ten years after Veronica's high school graduation, a few months after the movie left off.

Veronica is called in to investigate when a girl disappears from a Spring Break party, but it soon becomes apparent this is no ordinary missing persons case, and Veronica is quickly pulled back into Neptune's seedy underworld.

15 Books You Can’t Put Down

This wasn't high literature or anything, but it was so much fun and had such good narrative drive I didn't want to stop until I knew how it ended. Susan Meissner I know a lot of Susan Meissner fans, and many of those readers cite this one as their favorite.

The action goes back and forth in time between two women, a century apart, who are linked by a beautiful scarf and by their unlikely survival in two devastating tragedies in New York City.

Meissner's tone makes this an easy, enjoyable read despite the tough subject matter, making it easy to polish off in a day. Blake Crouch This fast-moving, cinematic thriller begins when the protagonist is kidnapped on his way home from meeting a friend, and is asked a strange question by his strangely familiar captor: Imagine the zaniness of Ready Player One, minus the video games or nostalgia trip.

Amy Gentry I devoured this in one sitting. Usually I don't think the premise sells the book, but this one does: Julie was kidnapped from her own home when she was thirteen, and eight years later, the mystery is unsolved.

A description of ethan frome a very well written book

Her family assumes the worst but can't be sure. Then one day, the doorbell rings, and it's Julie. But as she settles in to her new, old family, inconsistencies begin to emerge in her story.But here's the thing. As you fellow mommies know, spare time in the day to actually find to read a book can be hard to come by so I don't have the time or patience to "get into a book." It has to grab me from the first chapter and be so good it becomes one of those books you can't put down.

Written as an homage to Homer’s epic poem The Odyssey, Ulysses follows its hero, Leopold Bloom, through the streets of timberdesignmag.comowing with puns, references to classical literature, and stream-of-consciousness writing, this is a complex, multilayered novel about one day in the life of an ordinary man.

This free synopsis covers all the crucial plot points of Ethan Frome. Your book-smartest friend just got a makeover. where lights in the basement reveal a dance. Ethan loiters by the window, transfixed by the sight of a young girl in a cherry-colored scarf. He has come to the church to fetch his wife’s cousin, Mattie Silver, who has.

Abbott has a reputation for writing nail-biters but this is the first of her work I read. In her newest release, she builds her domestic suspense around an elite teen gymnast—an excellent backdrop for a creepy mystery because in this high-stakes world people will stop at almost nothing to get what they want.

A bestseller when it was originally published nearly a century ago, Wharton's first literary success was set amid the previously unexplored territory of fashionable, turn-of-the-century New York society, an area with which she was intimately familiar.

Reading Group Guide. This reading group guide for The Light Between Oceans includes an introduction, discussion questions and ideas for enhancing your book club.

The Giver by Lois Lowry